All Saints Church, Galle Fort, Sri Lanka

Situated within the Galle Fort, which was declared as a "WORLD HERITAGE SITE" in 1988 by UNESCO
Cathedral of the living saviour
About the Anglican Community of Sri Lanka
According to Christian traditions, St. Thomas, St. Bartholomew, and the eunuch of Candace, whose conversion by St. Philip is recorded in the Acts of the Apostles, are all alleged to have preached Christianity in the island, now called Sri Lanka.

There is a tradition of the existence of Nestorian Christi anity in Ceylon, in the time of the Emperor Justinian. Cosmas, a Nestorian Christian, writing about A.D. 550 says, on the authority of one Sopater, a Greek merchant, that in Taprobane (which was the ancient Greek name for Ceylon) there existed a community of Persian Christians, tended by bishops, priests and deacons, and having a regular liturgy.

Roman Catholicism was first introduced by the Portuguese in 1505, who left a notable mark in the continued use of Portuguese surnames even today by many Catholics. Dutch missionaries tried to spread Protestantism after the Portuguese were expelled in 1640.
The first Anglican Church Services were held on the island in 1796 when the British arrived in the Island. Later in 1818 missionaries were sent to Ceylon to begin work.

The diocese of Colombo was founded in 1845 as the diocese of the Church of England in Ceylon with its own bishop.
Bishops of Colombo
* James Chapman D.D. 1845-1861
* Piers Claughton D.D. 1862-1871
* Hugh Jermyn D.D. 1872-1875
* Reginald Copleston D.D. 1876-1902
* Ernest Copleston D.D. 1903-1924
* Mark Carpenter-Garnier D.D. 1924-1938
* Cecil Horsley M.A., D.D. 1938-1947
* Rollo Graham Campbell D.D. 1948-1964
* Harold De Soyza M.A. 1964-1971
* Cyril Abeynaike M.A. 1971-1977
* Swithin Fernando 1978-1987
* Jabez Gnanapragasam B.D. 1987-1992
* Kenneth Fernando B.A., B.D. 1992-2001
* Duleep De Chickera B.Th., M.Sc. 2001-2010
* Dhiloraj Canagasabey B.Th., B.Div. 2011-
The Church of Sri Lanka now has two dioceses, one in Colombo (covering the Western, Southern, Eastern, Northern and Uva provinces and Ratnapura, Nuwara Eliya and Puttalam districts) and the other in Kurunegala (covering the North-Central province and Kurunegala, Kandy, Matale and Kegalla, Anuradapura, Polonnaruwa, districts). The Diocese of Colombo was founded in 1845 and the Diocese of Kurunegala in 1950.

The Bishop of Calcutta was the Metropolitan Bishop of India and Ceylon from 10 October 1835. In 1930 Ceylon was included in the Church of India, Burma and Ceylon (from 1948 the Church of India, Pakistan, Burma, and Ceylon) until 1970. In 1970, the Church of the Province of Myanmar, the Church of Ceylon and the Church of Pakistan were separated from the province of Calcutta.

The Bishop of Colombo has four Archdeacons for Colombo, Galle, Jaffna and Upcountry & East. The Kurunegala diocese has its only Archdeacon in Kandy.
The Church of Ceylon continues as the Anglican Church in Sri Lanka, as an extra-provincial diocese of the Archbishop of Canterbury.
Anglican cathedrals in Sri Lanka
* Cathedral of Christ the Living Saviour in Colombo (Church of Ceylon)
* Cathedral of Christ the King in Kurunegala (Church of Ceylon)
* Cathedral of S. Thomas in Vaddukoddai (Church of South India)

A movement began towards church union in Sri Lanka - involving the Anglican dioceses of Colombo and Kurunegala, the Methodist Church, the Baptist Church, the Jaffna diocese of the Church of South India, and the churches of the Presbytery of Lanka.

In September 2006 the first three women priests were ordained in the Church of Ceylon.
(Source - The Internet)

Web Page Designed, Implemented & Hosted by Mann IT          © All Saints Church, Galle Fort, Sri Lanka